Why I Love Weddings

I feel like weddings are a touchy subject – you love them or you hate them. They are either a ridiculous party (generally involving a significant amount of booze) or a snooze fest. At times I can be extremely critical of weddings and other significant events – hey I am a planner after all – but when it all comes down to it – I genuinely love weddings. It’s near obsession actually. And probably totally unhealthy.

1.    My secret romantic side craves it (be honest we all have one). Despite the divorce rate in America, weddings are such a happy, beautiful moment between two individuals. Everybody is there for them, to celebrate the union that the bride and groom are entering into and the relationship they share. I love this. Even scrooge can’t help but be moved by the emotion. In some way – I like to look at it as a little event of hope, even if it is only for a short while. If those two can get hitched – why can’t I?

2.     The partier in me loves it (who doesn’t love an excuse for open bar). Let’s be honest – most weddings are a kick ass party. Though I think some couples concentrate too much on the event and not the act (hello – you are getting MARRIED), still it is fun. Besides, if you’re hosting 100+ out of town guests – you are expected to show them a good time, and who doesn’t love a crazy party to break up the monotony of everyday life.

3.    My design side nearly dies (in a good way). As a self-proclaimed “creative” and truthfully a crafting nerd I love weddings. There are soooo many opportunities to add personal touches – paper projects, floral projects, room design; the list goes on and on. In my world it is heaven.

I know the average person does not share these sentiments, and I know I’m a little crazy, but I think deep down – everyone loves a wedding! Agree? Disagree?

Leave a Reply

