Invitations only…

I have anxiously been awaiting the day I could finally post about this, because it has been something I’ve been working on/excited about for some time. As I mentioned before, one of the great things about working in the wedding world is that some of my closest friends often come to me for inspiration/advice. In this case, one of my best friends growing up (we’ll call her J) is getting hitched and not only do I have the honor of standing next to her on the big day, but I get to have a hand in some of the planning process too. Yay!

Needless to say I was very excited when J asked me for help with her invitation suite and all that encompasses. My background is in photography and I dabbled a bit in design in college so I eagerly said yes! First up were the Save The Dates. I knew J was going for a “modern but whimsical” style for the wedding and also knew that she was leaning towards using some sort of flowering branches in her wedding. I immediately started looking for inspiration and was drawn to paper suites of this variety:

(unfortunately it has been forever since I snagged these beauties so I cant remember where they are from, but chances are it was minted, wedding paper divas, green kangaroo or any number of wedding sites including The Knot, Martha Stewart, etc)

I really liked the loose feel of the graphics. I knew I wanted to keep it clean and simple, with just a hint of what was to come at the wedding. I also knew for mailing purposes, that I wanted to keep the save the date as close to standard envelope size as possible so they weren’t too expensive. From there, I drew up a few VERY rough drafts to present to her and Momma B. (excuse the super poor quality. As I said, very rough the first time around)

Option A:

Option B:

Option C:

Option D:

After some discussion it was narrowed down to Option B. With some tweaking, referencing back to the initial inspiration, I made a proof of the Save the Date.

I wasn’t personally feeling that particular illustration (again, rough sketch), it was really more of a place holder, and I knew I needed something more polished. For this, I enlisted the help of a design friend of mine Courtney O’Connell (I’ll include her full name because she’s awesome and if you ever need design work you should hire her!).  This is what the final piece turned into:

I was beyond stoked with the final look and thankfully it got the stamp of approval from J and all parties involved. She added some black and white photos of her and the fiance on the back and picked out a coordinating yellow envelope for good measure and out they went! Now that all parties have received their Save The Dates I can finally talk about it! I had a lot of fun playing with the designs for this project and am pretty proud of what the final product was. I’m also helping out with the actual invitation suite so I will show that progress as it comes along. Always something to look forward to… Working on her invites has made me even more excited for the big day!

One thought on “Invitations only…

  1. Pingback: I’ve always known it was you: Pt. 1 « by leah michelle

Leave a Reply

